To subscribe or renew you can email us at and we’ll bill you or message us on facebook (Sue Maureen) and we'll bill you or you can stop by the office in Stacyville, call us at 641.710.2110 or send us payment: The Monitor Review, PO Box 236, Stacyville, IA 50476.
Since January 1, 2011 there are new subscription rates for The Monitor Review.
Cost will be: Mitchell County: $31 per year; Mower County and adjoining counties to Mower and Mitchell County: $34 per year and anywhere else in the U.S. or with a U.S. address: $45.

Thursday, January 19, 2012

Sacred Heart Winter Banquet February 11
The Sacred Heart Annual Winter Auction and Banquet will be held on February 11 at the Sacred Heart Auditorium in Adams.
The day begins with a silent auction from 11-2:30PM. There is free admission. Lunch is available.
That evening the banquet and live auction will be held, starting with a 6PM social hour with open bar, a two-meat banquet starting at 7PM, and the live auction, raffle and door prizes beginning at 8PM.
Tickets are $45 and are going fast! They are available at Sacred Heart School during school hours.
In addition raffle tickets are being sold for $10. There will be six prizes of $500, five prizes of $200 and five prizes of $100.
All proceeds will go to Sacred Heart School.
For more information call the school at 582-3120.

As We See It by Sue and Maureen
Farewell Dr. Schindler.
We were really glad you were our doctor. However, we and our families stayed pretty healthy so we didn’t see you a lot. We don’t know if that makes us lucky or not!
But you were there, back in the day, when all of our babies were born. What a great start to life they each had, having you as their doctor through those first years. You made things easier as you kept things positive and always had us believe that, for the most part, that things would turn out fine.
And they did!
The legacy you leave is set in our community for years to come. The support and comfort your offered to all will always be remembered. Your sense of humor and caring ways won’t ever be forgotten. You were the one who brought both good news and bad, always with compassion and hope. You have touched the lives of so many of us and we thank you for that.
So here’s wishing you fun, relaxation, excitement and joy in your retirement.
We are so glad you were here!

Thursday, November 17, 2011

Saints to Class 1A Football State Championship!

News from November 10, 2011

As We See It by Sue and Maureen
What we’re liking at the moment:
Our kids. (But then they are always at the top!)
Coffee (mint, French vanilla, with hot chocolate mix added or the kind our sister Sharon makes which is basic coffee but with a flair.)
Flannel and fleece sheets because baby, it’s cold outside!
Some good movies: Moneyball, Ides of March and always Inception, which is best watched with subtitles.
Fun TV shows: Walking Dead, X-Factor, Sing Off and Glee.
Heated seats in the car.
Grilled chicken salads and the pie (of course) at Bubbles.
Getting ready to see the sisters really soon!
Our faithful subscribers and advertisers. Be sure to take advantage of our subscription deal that runs through December 31! This is for new subscriptions and renewals. See elsewhere in the paper for more information.

Celebrating Julia Addington
The third annual event honoring Julia Addington was held on November 6 at the Stacyville Community Center. The program was entitled “Julia Addington: In Her Own Words” and was sponsored by the Stacyville Memory Museum and the Mitchell County Historic Preservation Commission.
In 1869 Addington was the first women elected to a political office in the United States when she was elected the County Superintendent of Schools.
Mary Blake, curator of the museum, welcomed all to the afternoon. She spoke of how Cheryl Mullenbach stumbled upon the story of Addington in her research at the State of Iowa Historical Library. A performance featuring the writings of Addington was presented by Germaine Blake, Lisa Jahn, Beth Lavane, Sister Millie Luenberger and Mary Blake.
Janeal Dunn of the Preservation Commission acknowledged the following people: Tom Pitzen for his donation of two show cases for the library which feature memorabilia of Addington; Fred Langrock for the framing of certificates that are in the showcase; the Mitchell County Board of Supervisors; and all involved in the afternoon event. She also presented Mary Blake with a gift for her hard work organizing the afternoon.
Musical entertainment was provided by Lisa Heimer and Mark Koenigs.
Refreshments, featuring fresh bread made by Mary Bissen of the Chatterbox Cafe and homemade elderberry jam, made from elderberries grown on Albion Street where Addington lived, were served.
A free will donation was taken. Proceeds from the event will go toward a flag on Addington’s grave in the Stacyville Cemetery south of Stacyville where she is buried and toward the purchase of banners honoring her to be placed along Broad Street in Stacyville.

Tuesday, November 15, 2011

Dark Days Ahead

It's not dark when we get home from work yet.
We have until about 5PM and then the sun goes down and the world turns black.
And this is how it is in November. Gray days. Falling temperatures. Hints of snow.
It's almost cold enough - but not quite - to have to warm up the car before heading off to work when it's usually daybreak or a little beyond.
Darkness makes you settle in and not want to go anywhere. It provides that nesting feeling.
It's time to hunker down.

Thursday, November 10, 2011

Trying This Again

We write a lot. Most of The Monitor Review is written by Maureen.
So why a blog?
We started this in December 2009. Sporadic doesn't accurately describe the attempt to keep up with this blog.
It's more like a bi-yearly blog.
Once again, we're trying to write more often and have this be a more viable blog that is up to date.
We will have some articles that were in the paper reprinted here. Maybe we'll have some pictures but you can see them all on facebook as well.
This might be for the non-facebook types. We understand why you aren't on there.
If you decide to join facebook, be our friend at Sue Maureen.
We have read to get a blog going we have to write everyday so that's what we're going to try and do. Once we are able to do that we'll publicize this more.
And hopefully you can keep up with us and the happenings around the Adams and Stacyville communities by reading about it on our blog.
That is - if we can keep it up!

News From November 3, 2011

As We See It by Sue and Maureen
We all know about hand-me-downs. Sue is girl number six in the family so she was probably more well acquainted with this than Maureen (who is girl number two).
However, there was a red dress with a rainbow skirt and a sea horse pin that at least four of the six Golombowski girls wore in an elementary school picture.
That was a true hand-me-down.
Now we, as moms, are getting hand-me-ups. These are things are kids no longer need or want so they give that stuff to us.
We’ve gotten hand-me-up shoes, which we have to say are pretty cool. Of course, our kids have moved on to even cooler shoes.
Maureen just got a hand-me-up smart phone. The trick is, of course, to be smarter than the phone which is not always that easy to be.
Of course, her daughter has move on to an even smarter phone.
We’ve had hand-me-up books, specifically The Hunger Games trillogy (highly recommended by us). We were a little surprised when Barnes and Noble told us they were Teen Fantasy (as we are not interested in more Twilight-type books). Luckily, they are fabulous books and one of the best hand-me-ups we could have asked for.
Conclusion: Hand-me-ups are a better deal than hand-me-downs as far as we are concerned.
And a PS: What a great week for football! Ponder may not win all the games but we are grateful for the hope that he provides for the future - and for the Sunday victory! And for Minnesota Gopher Fans - it was nice to see the win on Saturday. Go Rebels- on to the Section Championship game on Friday night, the first they’ve been in for many years. It’s great to be playing football in November! And how about those Saints! It’s a good time to be a football fan

Mr. Kennedy to Leave Sacred Heart School - front page - pic
Sacred Heart School principal and middle school social studies teacher, Mr. Shawn Kennedy, has resigned from his position effective November 11.
“Sacred Heart School was the best thing that ever happened to me,” he said. “However, I am leaving only because there was a better opportunity to provide for my family.”
Mr. Kennedy has been at Sacred Heart School for the past nine years.
He has accepted a position with the Hormel Company as a production supervisor.
“We have come to love Mr. Kennedy,” said Father Tom Loomis. “However, we will look forward to seeing him and his family in the community.”
A teacher will be hired and Mrs. Darlene Boe will continue in the position of Sacred Heart School Principal. She and Mr. Kennedy shared the principal job this school year.
“I will really, really miss the staff, students and parents. This has been a big part of my life for a long time,” said Mr. Kennedy. “This is an amazing and wonderful school. I know the future is bright.”

New Administrator at one of the best nursing homes in Iowa
Jordan Wineinger is the new nursing home administrator at Stacyville Community Nursing Home, one of the best nursing homes in the US as rated by US News.
Jordan takes the place of Eric Jensen, the previous administrator. Mr. Jensen was employed by Continuum Management who decided to leave the Stacyville home.
Jordan was independently hired.
“I am a Mason City native and a graduate of Newman High School,” said Jordan. “I was unsure about my career, although I was looking for something medical. I attended NIACC for two years where I played golf. From there I attend UNI, majoring in gerontology and long term health care administration.”
Jordan had an internship at Western Home Community in Cedar Falls where he had a wide range of duties. He was then hired as administrator for an independent living community there.
“My wife then got a job in Washington, DC with the Farm Bureau so we moved east where I worked at a tax department of a large hotel management company,” he said. “We knew this would be a brief adventure and returned to Iowa after a couple of years. I worked with quality assurance at Main Stream Living in Des Moines in, which helps people with disabilities. This was an area I wanted to explore as I have a brother who is 18 years old with Downs Syndrome so it’s been an area of interest. There I worked with Medicaid quite a bit.”
Although he enjoyed his work at Main Stream Living, Jordan decided to go where his passion was, and that is with long term care for the elderly. “I volunteered a lot as a kid at nursing homes and this was where I thought I would best fit,” he said.
Jordan began working at the Stacyville Community Nursing Home on October 25. “My wife and I will be moving to Osage which will be near where we both work,” he said. “I have been meeting the residents and staff here so far, and also getting out into the Stacyville community during my first week. I know this will be a rewarding job and I”m looking forward to getting to know everyone better.”

Wednesday, July 13, 2011

A few things from July 7, 2011 Paper, including As We See It

Relay Pride to Host Relay Ride
Get ready to ride on July 22!
The Cimmiyotti family of Stacyville will have a Relay for Life bicycle ride on Friday July 22 starting at 5:30PM to raise money for cancer research for the American Cancer Society.
“Our family’s Relay for Life team is named Relay Pride and we decided Relay Ride would involve others while we raise money and have some fun, too,” said Glenn Cimmiyotti.
Registration will begin at 4:30PM, with pre-registration available by picking up a form at Gordy’s Repair or at Bawek’s in Stacyville.
The cost is $20, which includes a t-shirt, and 100% of the fee will go to Relay for Life.
There will be a choice of routes, including an 8 mile ride east of Stacyville to the Meyer corner and back, a 10.5 mile ride to Meyer and back and a couple routes west to St. Ansgar.
“We are doing this in memory of our mom, Sharon, who died of cancer and in honor of our family members who are battling cancer, as well as everyone who is fighting this disease,” said Glenn. “We’ve had a great show of support already. We have been getting sponsors from businesses for $50 and we will have those names on the shirts. In addition, we are in the Osage Fourth of July parade promoting the ride and the sponsors. We’ll also be in the Brat Daze parade with an entry thanking our sponsors as well.”
Those wishing to sponsor the Relay Ride can contact Glenn or Corky at Gordy’s at 641.710.2289.
“We are putting this together pretty quickly, but know it will be a way to show support for cancer research as well as help us to celebrate, remember and fight back,” said Glenn.

As We See It by Sue and Maureen
We thought June was busy, but July is jammed packed with plenty of things to do.
This is what is going on.
There’s the Shooting Star Trail bike ride on Saturday July 9, starting in Adams. Last year there were hundreds of bikers! You can choose a route, and one is all on the trail. Check it out!
Rose Creek Fun Days is also this weekend July 9-10, which are some of the best days for kids because they have so many competitions and activities for those ages, like the kick ball tournament, along with some great bands and a great concession stand and even a Windsor chop meal!
Our church celebration, the Johnsburg Jamboree, is all day long on Sunday, July 9. We’ll have our cakes ready for the cake walk and we’ll be working in the kitchen in the morning (Maureen) and working the card raffle in the afternoon (Sue) while fitting in Bingo, the bake sale, some gaming, some brat eating and beer drinking all while listening to polka music under those tall swaying pine trees on the church grounds. It is one of the nicest places to spend a Sunday in July!
Also in July will be the expanded version of Brat Daze in Stacyville, which is on July 23 this year (Remember- it’s July 23!). New this year - and quickly being organized - is the Relay Ride on Friday July 22 starting at 5:30PM. This will be a great bicycle ride to Meyer or to St. Ansgar, your choice. Read more about this great fund (and fun) raiser for Relay for Life elsewhere in the paper. On Saturday, July 23 there is the good time THEM golf tournament in Adams to raise money for scholarships in memory of Therese Halbach. And of course, alll day long in Stacyville, starting at 8AM with the famous Brat Trot, will be Brat Daze with food, fun and entertainment. The parade is at 7PM, followed by the crowning of Miss Stacyville and a dance until midnight.
On Sunday July 24 will be the Meyer Memorial Tractor Ride that brings hundreds of tractors to our rural roads. We love it.
Then July 30 it’s the MFMGTH (that’s the Mike Finbraaten Memorial Golf Tournament and Hootenanny) at Cedar River Country Club. We have info on facebook (be our friend - we are Sue Maureen) or you can contact one of us for more information. There are door prizes for all, one of the best silent auctions anywhere and fun and funny people. We always laugh a lot.
And’s August!

The Kochs’ Barn Quilts

Ed and Carol Koch of rural Rose Creek started off with one barn quilt.
“I like roses, and it took a while to find the one I wanted, which was an applique type which you don’t often see” said Carol. “We used a 4-foot by 4-foot piece of ¾ inch plywood that had a pine strip to cover the edges. We had two coats of primer, 2 coats of white paint and 2 coats of each color and it turned out great.”
This first quilt was hung October 26, 2009, in time for Ed’ birthday.
By the end of November, the Kochs had two more quilts up, with the pattern Bridal Bouquet to the west of the rose and a Liberty Fan to the east.
“My parents were quilters for years, and I am a quilter, too,” said Carol. “These barn quilts fit right in with our farm and our heritage.”
Soon the Kochs decided to make a few more. “Ed wanted to choose the colors for the Star and Crown one, which is on the east side of our barn,” said Carol. “Then I added the Color Wheel Windmill with rainbow colors.”
The last quilt is a Sunbonnet Sue, which hangs on their machine shed.
“We used an exterior gloss paint on the quilts that has held up quite well,” said Ed. “It took a while to do each one but they look great today.”
The Kochs’ farm is southeast of Rose Creek on 620th Avenue.